To celebrate our 20th anniversary, Stanford Repertory Theater mounts our most ambitious summer festival to date, After Troy: Euripides’ Hecuba/HelenJune – August 2018, focusing on the myth of the Trojan War and its aftermath.

We present two tragedies of Euripides, Hecuba and Helen, featuring strong women responding to the consequences of a devastating war. By combining the plays (as far as we know, never done before), we juxtapose two radically different views of the conflict. Hecuba looks at the destruction of Troy through the eyes of the vanquished Trojan queen; Helen looks at the war from the point of view of its ostensible cause, the famous Spartan Helen. In Euripides’ version, however, Helen’s image (rather than her person) went to Troy, leaving the tragic heroine to expose the shadowy justifications used to make that war (like many others) seem like the best solution rather than the last resort. 

Given the international saber rattling that one hears almost daily in the news, and the ongoing revelations about male abuse and violence against women, these plays could not be more timely. Euripides handles these distressing subjects with insight, passion, theatrical brilliance, and - most surprisingly - an unsettling sense of humor


SRT 2017, The Many Faces of  Farce: “It’s a wonderful production, well performed and well directed. … an entertaining and thoughtful evening of theater.”  Palo Alto Daily Post

SRT's 2016 production of Odet's Waiting for Lefty: "Kudos to Stanford Repertory Theater and artistic director Rush Rehm for bringing this pithy production to Bay Area audiences." San Jose Mercury News

SRT's 2015 production of Coward's Hay Fever received three Bay Area Theater Critic Award Nominations: Best Production, Best Costumes (Connie Strayer), Best Supporting Actress (Kathleen Kelso)

SRT's 2014 production of Welles' Moby Dick - Rehearsed received ten Theater Bay Area nominations, and won in four categories: Outstanding Production, Outstanding Ensemble, Outstanding Direction (Rush Rehm and Courtney Walsh), and Outstanding Sound Design (Michael Keck)